Navigate Up
Sign In

MCO Big Band at the Malta Jazz Festival 2018

Date: 19 July 2018
Time: 21:00hr
Venue: Pjazza Teatru Rjal

A jazz big band consisting of seventeen musicians from the Malta Concert Orchestra, under the direction of Paul Abela, will be joined on stage by special guests Stjepko Gut (trumpet) and Gabriele Comeglio (saxophone) in performing the Kansas City Suite by Benny Carter written for the famous Count Basie Orchestra. Benny Carter wrote Kansas City Suite in 1960 picturing the elements of Kansas City stomp jazz and tailored for the big brash sound of the Count Basie band. To Benny Carter, the different streets and places in Kansas City – where so many of the jazz greats lived and worked, and where so much of jazz history was written – evoked a mood, a remembrance of things past. He has, for this reason, titled the selections of this suite after these very same streets and places. The Kansas City of the '20s and 30s is now a legend, and the music that saw its beginnings there has since developed and moved into the mainstream of today's jazz. 

Tickets: Free Entrance

Click here for more info.